Judicial Council

Judicial Council of Georgia

The Judicial Council is the policy-making body for Georgia’s judiciary, chaired by the Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of Georgia. The Judicial Council is composed of 27 members, representing every class of court and the State Bar of Georgia. The Council meets at least four times a year to consider new judgeships, budgetary and legislative matters, and judicial branch programs and policies.

Explainer Video


Next Council Meeting:

The Judicial Council of Georgia will meet Friday, December 8, 2017 from 10:00 a.m. – 2:00 p.m. at The Carter Center in Atlanta, GA. Agendas and materials will be available for download in advance of the meeting.

The Judicial Council Meeting Calendar for 2017:

Date  Time  Place
February 24, 2017 10 a.m. – 2 p.m. Atlanta, GA (Sloppy Floyd Building)
April 28, 2017 10 a.m. - 2 p.m. Savannah, GA (Hyatt Regency Savannah)
August 9, 2017 10 a.m. – 12 p.m. Atlanta, GA (The Georgian Club)
October 20, 2017 12 p.m. – 5 p.m. Macon, GA (Anderson Conference Center)
December 8, 2017 10 a.m. – 2 p.m. Atlanta, GA (The Carter Center)

Regular Council Meeting Agendas:

As part of the judicial branch of the State of Georgia, the AOC, Judicial Council and its respective committees, commissions, and boards are not subject to Georgia’s open meetings and open records laws. Meeting information, agendas, and materials may be provided as a courtesy. Any compliance with open meetings or open records laws is strictly voluntary and does not require future compliance.