Grady County Probate CourtGrady County Courthouse


 

MARRIAGE LICENSES

Steps to Obtaining a Marriage License

For ages 18 and up, a marriage license may be obtained at the Probate Court between 8:30 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. Monday through Friday. Sixteen- and seventeen-year old applicants may receive a license if both parents appear, present identification and consent in writing to the marriage. Both the bride and the groom must appear in person for the license. A marriage license cannot, by law, be issued to anyone under the age of 16 without parental consent, unless there is a pregnancy verified by a licensed physician.

(1)  When a couple receives 6 hours counseling from a minister or marriage counselor (the law specifies who may counsel), the fee is $26.00; without counseling-$61.00;
(2)  If the Judge performs the ceremony, the county requires an additional fee of $15.00 ($41.00 or $76.00)

Items to be brought to the Probate Judge’s office when applying for a marriage license:

Proof of identity: All applicants must present a valid picture I.D. This may be either a driver’s license, a military I.D., a passport, or a State I.D. card. All applicants must also present a social security card as proof of their number.

A copy of the final decree of the last divorce, if applicable or copy of a death certificate of deceased spouse, if applicable.

The application process takes approximately 30 minutes.

BLOOD TESTS

As of July 1, 2003 the State of Georgia no longer requires a blood test to obtain a marriage license.

ADDITIONAL QUESTIONS

Additional questions regarding the marriage license may be directed to (229) 377-4621

Firearms: 

REQUIREMENTS FOR OBTAINING A FIREARMS LICENSE
(CONCEALED WEAPON PERMIT)

PLEASE NOTE:

• TO APPLY FOR A FIREARMS LICENSE IN THIS COURT, YOU MUST BE 21 YEARS OF AGE OR OLDER AND BE A RESIDENT OF GRADY COUNTY. YOU MUST PRESENT A VALID PHOTO I.D. AND PROOF OF YOUR PRESENT GRADY COUNTY ADDRESS.
• IF THE PERMIT IS DENIED, THERE IS NO REFUND.
• REPLACEMENT FEE FOR A LOST PERMIT IS $9.00.

FIRST TIME APPLICANTS MUST HAVE THE FOLLOWING:

• A $24.00 MONEY ORDER or CASHIER’S CHECK made payable to the G.B.I. (This fee is to pay for the background check. The G.B.I. will only accept a money order or cashier’s check.)
• Fifteen dollars ($15.00) for Probate Court Fee. This may be either cash, money order or personal check.
• The applicant must fill out the application in Probate Court and sign in the presence of a Clerk.
• Fingerprinting may be done at the Grady County Sheriff’s Office, located at 115 16th Avenue, N.E., Cairo, GA. The Sheriff’s hours for printing are 10:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m. on Tuesdays and Thursdays. Fingerprinting will be done at the Cairo Police Department, located at 4 South Broad Street, Cairo, GA. The Police Department’s hours for printing are 1:00 p.m. – 3:30 p.m., Monday through Friday.
• First time applications usually take six (6) to eight (8) weeks. Please wait at least six (6) weeks before calling to check on your permit. The permit is valid for five (5) years, at which time it may be renewed.

RENEWALS:

You must renew your permit within the month it expires to avoid paying for another background investigation. Renewals usually take three (3) to five (5) business days.

STATES ENTITLED TO GEORGIA’S FIREARM LICENSE RECIPROCITY:

Alabama, Florida, Colorado, Idaho, Indiana, Kentucky, Michigan, Montana, New Hampshire, North Carolina, Pennsylvania, South Dakota, Tennessee, Wyoming

LICENSING EXCEPTIONS PURSUANT TO O.C.G.A. §16-11-129(b)

(b) Licensing exceptions.

No license shall be granted to:

• 1. Any person under 21 years of age;

• 2. Any person who is a fugitive from justice or against whom proceedings are pending for any felony, forcible misdemeanor, or violation of Code Section 16-11-126, 16-11-127, or 16-11-128 until such time as the proceedings are adjudicated;

• 3. Any person who has been convicted of a felony by a court of this state or any other state; by a court of the United States including its territories, possessions, and dominions; or by a court of any foreign nation and has not been pardoned for such felony by the President of the United States, the State Board of Pardons and Paroles, or the person or agency empowered to grant pardons under the constitution or laws of such state or nation or any person who has been convicted of a forcible misdemeanor and has not been free of all restraint or supervision in connection therewith for at least five years or any person who has been convicted of a violation of Code Section 16-11-126, 16-11-127, or 16-11-128 and has not been free of all restraint or supervision in connection therewith for at least three years, immediately preceding the date of the application;

• 4. Any individual who has been hospitalized as an inpatient in any mental hospital or alcohol or drug treatment center within five years of the date of his application. The probate judge may require any applicant to sign a waiver authorizing any mental hospital or treatment center to inform the judge whether or not the applicant has been an inpatient in any such facility in the last five years and authorizing the superintendent of such facility to make to the judge a recommendation regarding whether a license to carry a pistol or revolver should be issued. The judge shall keep any such hospitalization or treatment information confidential. It shall be at the discretion of the probate judge, considering the circumstances surrounding the hospitalization and the recommendation of the superintendent of the hospital or treatment center where the individual was a patient, to issue the license; or

• 5. (A) Any person, the provisions of paragraph (3) of this subsection notwithstanding, who has been convicted of an offense arising out of the unlawful manufacture, distribution, possession, or use of a controlled substance or other dangerous drug.

(B) As used in this paragraph, the term:

(i) "Controlled substance" means any drug, substance, or immediate precursor included in the definition of controlled substances in paragraph (4) of Code Section 16-13-21.

(ii) "Convicted" means a plea of guilty, a finding of guilt by a court of competent jurisdiction, the acceptance of a plea of nolo contendere, or the affording of first offender treatment by a court of competent jurisdiction irrespective of the pendency or availability of an appeal or an application for collateral relief.

(iii) "Dangerous drug" means any drug defined as such in Code Section 16-13-71.
O.C.G.A. §19-13-1 No license shall be granted to any person convicted of a "family violence offense" as defined in O.C.G.A. 19-13-1.

Hunting/Fishing: